I’m a little terrified to lead, but I’m trusting that God’s got it.

In September, Becky Lewis will take over from Rob Ainsworth as co-ordinator of the Besom in York. Here she shares her Besom journey so far and her hopes and prayers for the future.

img_0455Two weeks after I moved to York, five and half years ago, I found myself doing a Besom project. I remember it really clearly, I joined a big group of students clearing a garden and painting a bedroom in Tang Hall. I didn’t actually know anyone at all, I’d been visiting a church – heard ‘social action project’ on Saturday and signed up! Little did I know, this was the start of my journey with the Besom.

Fast forward a few months and I found myself as the University of York Christian Union’s social action rep. Sat in the very same office I now work in every week, I met Rob and Sam Tyndall (core team member) and chatted about how we could arrange for students to do some giving.

My time as social action rep was brilliant, I had the absolute privilege of seeing loads of students give up their Saturdays to help people in need in the local community. I saw students go above and beyond, filling cupboards with food, building relationships with recipients and I got to witness them going back to the houses they decorated, inviting people to church.

I heard a story the other day of one previous student who befriended a recipient to such an extent that she’d would drive her to church each week. My heart was happy seeing students making a difference and the Besom was a huge part of that.

In my final year of university,  I was getting sick of the question – “what are you going to do after you graduate?” My answer was always “I don’t know!” I didn’t have a defined career path ahead so I prayed and prayed and waited.

One evening, I got a message from Rob, asking me to consider the Besom internship. And that was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

The biggest lesson I’ve learnt from the Besom is that God always provides. I accepted the internship with nowhere to live and no part time job to support myself. I tried to sort this all out on my own and completely failed. But once I’d prayed, God gave me a job and somewhere to live in the same week.

image1

And that’s my testimony for having been part of the core team the last two and half years. Over and over again I’ve seen God provide in ways I could never imagined. My favourite story has been when we prayed for a van and not only did God give us one we also opened the post to find a huge cheque on the same day. God definitely provides in abundance.

I love working at Besom. I love seeing the church step up and help those in need, and do it well. I love seeing how God is working in this city.

I’m really excited for the next season. I had never thought I would end up leading the Besom but God has confirmed it through many different people, words and prompting. I’m also a little terrified to lead, but I’m trusting that God’s got it. Come September the core team is going to look a little different without Rob and Katie Harman is on maternity leave. But again, as ever, we are trusting that He’ll provide. If you feel God might be prompting you to join the core team and facilitate giving in the city then we would love to prayerfully consider that with you.

Please pray for us as we head into this new season.

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus” – Philipians 4:19

2 thoughts on “I’m a little terrified to lead, but I’m trusting that God’s got it.

  1. The Besom in Ryedale

    Dear Becky You are a blessed woman who will use your gifts to lead Besom in York in continuing God’s work in York. I will continue praying for you and your team from Ryedale.

    I have some books & CD Resources that you may like to have in the office for distribution. I can bring them into York when it is convenient. Let me know if you want them or not. I can recycle them otherwise. Ever thing else of a sensative nature has been shredded or burnt. I have told the Agencies that we are closed.

    A Besom ‘besom’ New! 2 copies of the Besom Manual and 3 copies of Introduction Parts I & II 2 copies of Simplicity Love & Justice 2005 reprint.

    We have given our remaining money to the local Simpsons Trust who distribute small amounts of money to local people to help them get back on their feet. Quite close to our intentions.

    Otherwise Besom in Ryedale has closed down completely now. Any goods left from starter packs will be cleared before winter and redistributed or recycled.

    A huge Thanks to Besom in York our brothers and sisters in Faith and work! I for one will miss the Besom dreadfully but God will find me work to do I’m sure. I’m dropping the baton just as you are taking it up. God bless you. Love Carolyn Rorke

    Like

Leave a Reply

